IU Southeast Writing Contest Winners, 2013

Screen shot 2013-11-21 at 7.09.25 PMI’m very proud to have judged the fiction section of the Indiana University Southeast Writing Contest this year. My friend Steve Bowman, who teaches there, recommended me as one of the contest judges, and I had a great time reading the submissions.

My congratulations to all the young writers who sent in such good short fiction, but special nods to S. Asher Taylor (1st place for “The Arrival”), Glynnis Bernier-Clarke (2nd place for “The Forecast”), Andy Smith (3rd place for “Carnivores”), and John Templeton (Honorable Mention for “Knock”). These are writers to keep an eye out, for, gang — I’d wager you’ll be seeing their names in literary magazines one of these days.

Published by Samuel Snoek-Brown

I write fiction and teach college writing and literature. I'm the author of the story collection There Is No Other Way to Worship Them, the novel Hagridden, and the flash fiction chapbooks Box Cutters and Where There Is Ruin.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: